Between Books

I apologize for the quiet week posting-wise.  I blame it on being between books; I began one, discarded it, began another, discarded it.  I knew I wanted to read something, but couldn’t figure out what.  I spent a great deal of time staring at my bookshelves, and the rest of the time watching mindless YouTube videos and scrolling through Pinterest.  I was generally listless and uninspired and only wanted lukewarm broth with noodles when lunchtime rolled around.  You know the feeling.

Last night I finally settled on one: The White Forest, by Adam McOmber.  It’s ethereal and mysterious and Victorian (three of my favorite qualities in a novel) and it’s just exactly what I’ve been craving.

Today, thank goodness, my productivity levels are up again.  I woke up at a respectable 10:00, put on some flannel, cleaned my room while listening to This American Life, and went out into the 53-degree world with blissful purpose.  I mailed a care package to Amy, who is homesick over there in cheesehead land.  Mom and I visited Ojiketa Regional Park to check out Art Blitz.  Then we went to Sunrise River Farm for apples and apple bread and apple butter.  And I tried to scratch a donkey’s nose.  He tossed his head away, disgruntled that I hadn’t brought a food offering for him.  I guess I see his point.

IMG_1684

4 thoughts on “Between Books

    • I know, I know: I am easily seduced by farm animals. But in my defense we’ve been to Pleasant Valley three times already. And will likely return three more times before the season is over 🙂

      • Oh, good to hear. Eat as many apples as you can for me. I miss them lots. 🙂
        (And if you’re easily seduced by farm animals, you should know that we have brand new baby goats at PVO…)

      • I will! My average is about 2.5 Honeycrisps/day. I shouldn’t have to go to the doctor for the next ten years. I heard about the goats! Perhaps I’d have better luck charming one of them…

Leave a Reply

