Memorial Day Weekend

My family’s Memorial Day weekend, like most of our weekends once the ice is melted, was spent up at the boat.  “Up at the boat” for my entire life (quite literally: there are photos infant Holly asleep in a car seat wedged between fish coolers on the back deck) has meant the boat my family owns on Lake Superior.  We don’t have a cabin, we don’t have isolated acreage with four wheelers and an archery range, but we do have a boat that sleeps four plus one dog, and a vast expanse of lake to float her on.

Although there was a time when I hated the idea of leaving the “civilization” of cable TV and frequent showers in favor of fishing, exploring the Apostle Islands, and meeting the many characters who moonlight as avid boaters, I have since come around.

I even filleted two fish last weekend.  Of course, I refused to hold the head while slicing the torso, so my brave younger sister did that for me.  I never said I was Ahab.

Here’s last weekend, “up at the boat”:

Ruby pleading for attention during the ride down.  Also, as per usual, using anything within reach as a pillow.

Ruby pleading for attention during the drive down. Also, as per usual, using anything within reach as a pillow.

My breakfast view.

My breakfast view.

Reading material.  Let the Michael Perry obsession continue.  Oh how I aspire to write books like this someday.

Reading material. Let the Michael Perry obsession continue. Oh how I aspire to write books like this someday.

I call this one "Glassy Water with Downrigger."

I call this one “Glassy Water with Downrigger.”

After a fish took a lure and broke the line, Dad felt compelled to go down and do some untangling.  I got to drive.

After a fish took a lure and broke the line, Dad felt compelled to go down and do some untangling. I got to drive.

The person in possession of the wheel is also in charge of watching the lines.  When a pole dips and bends sporadically, there's a fish on.

The person in possession of the wheel is also in charge of watching the lines. When a pole dips and bends sporadically, there’s a fish on.

I also got to keep tabs on what was going on down below.

I kept tabs on what was going on down below.

Once my driving duties were over, I took a nap on the couch.  When I awoke, the wind had picked up significantly.

Once my driving duties were over, I took a nap on the couch. When I awoke, the wind had picked up significantly.

Our catch.  You can't see all of them, but we caught nine Coho salmon.  Enough to win us $35 in the marina fishing contest.

Our catch. You can’t see all of them, but we caught nine Coho salmon. Enough to win us $35 in the marina fishing contest.

Ruby is fond of giving the camera forlorn looks.  But believe me when I say that she gets more than her share of attention from all of us.

Ruby is fond of giving the camera forlorn looks. But believe me when I say that she gets more than her share of attention from all of us.

See?

See?

After a long day on the water, it was time to head back to the marina for the annual chili dump.  This is the most delicious bowl in the world.

After a long day on the water, we headed back to the marina for the annual chili dump. This is the most delicious bowl in the world.

Leave a Reply

