The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

Friends,

Near the end of winter break, when I was still concussed and thus largely immobile, my friend Amelia, who shares my love of all things Pride and Prejudice (although I give her all praise for having read much more Austen than I; I couldn’t get past the head trauma scene in Persuasion), told me to look into The Lizzie Bennet Diaries.

Created in part by the Vlogbrothers’ Hank Green, the LBDs are a series of videos, posted weekly, in which real actors play out the story of Pride and Prejudice.  Although the general arc of the original plot is preserved, the videos are set in 2013.  Thus, Lizzie Bennet is a graduate student in communications.  Mr. Wickham is a swim coach.  The Bennets live in California. You see what I mean.

Here’s the link to the tumblr site, and, because I’m convinced that it will only take one video for you to become as hooked as I am, below is the first installment.

Stay warm!

-Holly

Leave a Reply

