Third-to-Last First Day of Class

My third-to-last first day of class was today.  It was Introduction to the Solar System, my sole summer class, and my sole remaining general education requirement.

Impressions:

1.  The professor seems kind, and is thorough about providing examples when he’s explaining something.  I don’t think he has a lot of self-confidence about his lecturing, though; I was tentative about asking questions because they seemed to disconcert him so much.

2.  I remember learning about the solar system in elementary school, but I haven’t really touched it since.  It’ll be nice to get back on the horse in that department, even without poor little Pluto.

3.  “This class will not be math intensive” = huge sigh of relief.  And then, to my despair, math came regardless.  We received a refresher course in trigonomentry, scientific notation, and geometry.  Oh, boy.

4.  I know several people in the class, which is helpful for the exchange of disparaging looks.  And for general merriment in the lab.

5.  Four hours a day five days a week is going to be a lot.

6.  On my walk home tonight, I picked out the constellation Leo in the sky.  Now that’s progress.

Leave a Reply

