Verbal Reasoning

I’ve spent the better part of today poring over the Verbal Reasoning chapter of my GRE study book.

I wasn’t exactly worried about verbal reasoning initially.  I’m a reader and a writer; I like to think that words are my strong suit.  But then they started throwing around crazy words like “ameliorated” and “iconoclasm.”  That’s when I decided I might need to make some vocabulary flashcards after all.

Something else I noticed is that when it comes to questions taken from a passage, I score exponentially higher when I’m interested in the passage subject material.  Got 100% on the Wuthering Heights passage questions.  Got 0% on the Soviet Union agriculture passage questions.  Not good.

In other news, it’s the Strawberry Full Moon tonight.  Go outside and enjoy it.

 

Leave a Reply

