Good Poems, American Places

I’ve been reading a few poems from this book every night before bed.

I read the poems aloud, as poetry should always be read, although in a hushed voice that befits the often hushed state of my house past midnight.

This was the second poem in the collection, and it continues to be my favorite.  In fact, I’m becoming a large Robert Bly fan; Mr. Keillor took care to include several of his poems.

“In a Train”, by Robert Bly

There has been a light snow.

Dark car tracks move in out of the darkness.

I stare at the train window marked with soft dust.

I have awakened in Missoula, Montana, utterly happy.

Not Missoula, but University of Minnesota Morris. And with more than a light snow. But this place makes me utterly happy.

Leave a Reply

