Oscar Gowns

It’s happening.  This blog will temporarily be concerned with fashion, something I never thought it would be concerned with (I am strictly a v-neck and jeans girl).  But as I have obnoxiously strong opinions concerning the Academy Awards in general, and as said opinions trickle down to include actress attire, I’m going for it.

In no particular order, here are my favorite Oscar dresses (from 2005-present, because 2005 was when I began watching religiously):

Vera Wang. I think part of the reason I love this dress so much is that Michelle simply looked so happy in it. She and Heath attended the ceremony together, they were smiling and laughing, and all was right in the world.

1950s Dior. Reese Witherspoon won best actress for Walk the Line in this dress.

Guy Laroche. I tend to think the simpler the better when it comes to evening gowns. I tend to think that surprising details keep a simple dress from being boring. I also tend to think that if you spend months training to be a boxer in Million Dollar Baby, you deserve to show off some skin.

Balenciaga. I remember a lot of people, mostly people more well-spoken in the fashion world than I, hated this dress. I think it’s perfect on her. The color is great and the bow in the back adds interest.

Jean Paul Gaultier. She won best actress in this dress as well. I see a trend here.

Badgley Mischka

Valentino. This is possibly my all-time favorite. The colors are lovely together, and the draping is exquisite.

Vintage Balmain. Maybe it does look a little like a wedding dress, but I’m going to let that go.

Elie Saab. The color makes this dress for me, although I’m not a fan of the slightly shredded-looking edges.

Elie Saab. It’s brave, I think, to wear a patterned evening gown, and this one reminds me of a Monet painting.

Lanvin. Once you get past the brillo pad material, this dress has a modern elegance to it that Natalie Portman pulls off perfectly, headband and all.

Armani Prive. It’s simple, it’s 60s, it’s fun. What more can you ask for?

Leave a Reply

