I’ve Survived

I’m happy to report that I survived finals week, and am now sitting comfortably on my own living room couch, dog sprawled at my feet.

Here’s what’s happened since I last posted:

1.  I wrote five papers, which, honestly, didn’t seem possible while I was writing them.  What finally worked was for me to sit myself down in a corner of the library and write at least one page an hour.  At that rate, it was nice to be able to say that I’d start a paper at 10 pm and have it done by 1 am.  Further, if you don’t mind me bragging a little, I’ve written 40 pages of papers over the past 16 days.  This figure is maybe not so much for someone like, say, F. Scott Fitzgerald, but it’s a lot for me.  Especially considering I have a job and class and student government.  F. Scott just…partied.

2.  Took two final exams (world history and statistics).

3.  Dressed up as Theodore Roosevelt for my world history final.  The prof promised extra credit for whoever dressed up, depending on the calibar of the costume.  I had a khaki shirt, tie, boots, mustache, Bull Moose Party pin, big stick, and a bottle of ibuprofen with “pure” scrawled across it (props if you get the reference).  It was a little ridiculous, but TR is one of my favorite presidents, and I figured he deserved representation.  Even if two people did ask me if I was supposed to be Stalin…

4.  I began to compile my summer reading list, which is one of the true joys of my life.  Here’s what I have so far: The Great Gatsby (haven’t read it since eleventh grade), Population: 485 (this is the Michael Perry book I ordered shortly after I saw him at UMM’s literary festival), Under the Banner of Heaven (I loved Into the Wild, and have heard that this Jon Krakauer is even better), Lolita, Crime and Punishment (I’m reading a Russian novel this summer.  It’s time), Slaughterhouse Five, and The Author’s Theory (a book recently written and self-published by a friend of mine at school.  I’ve read an excerpt in my fiction writing class, and am eager to read the rest).

5.  Got a job volunteering at a local movie theater.  It’s old and historic and lovely, and they rely heavily on volunteers and donations to keep it running.  I’ll be working concessions and ticket sales at first, they told me, and as I’ve expressed interest in running the projector, I will possibly  be trained in that once I’ve proved myself in other areas.

6.  I’ve breathed a huge sigh of relief.  I’m slightly sad and nostalgic as I always am when school ends for the summer, but mostly it’s nice not to have a huge to-do list weighing on me at all times.

 

2 thoughts on “I’ve Survived

  1. I recommend reading /Into Thin Air/ by Krakauer as well, if you haven’t yet. It’s about an Everest expedition–fascinating and I loved it (seven years ago when I read it, at least).

Leave a Reply

