Day One

You may notice that, even after all my highly ambitious claims in the “About” section, it is now January 2nd and I’m posting for the first time.

Yes, I missed a day.  And I’m sorry.

However, in my defense, yesterday I was awfully busy watching multiple Minnesota teams playing multiple sports lose multiple games.  And then I was busy consoling myself with spinach dip and a victorious round of Trivial Pursuit.  And so it goes.

Anyway, I’ll simply post until January 2nd, 2013 to make up the difference.  No harm done, right?

To start out this blog, I want to make some statements about what I’m trying to do here.

Firstly, I’m an aspiring writer.  English major, as a matter of fact.  And while I’ve been blogging since 2008, I’ve never been exactly regular about it.  I tend to post only when I have something big to say.  Or when I’m feeling guilty about not posting.  Or during Finals Week when I need an outlet for my moans and groans, and justification for my procrastination.  This sporadicity has been getting on my nerves lately.  If I truly want to grow as a writer (and I do), then I need to make writing a daily habit.

Here’s where the blogging comes in.  At least once a day, for an entire year.  That’s the goal.  And although I thought about it, I’m not going to make a post word minimum for myself, and I’m not going to set any standards for content.  While I’ll certainly try to write thoughtful, illuminating, entertaining posts, I can’t guarantee that there won’t be days where I will simply compose some silly poem, or crank out a list of my favorite Spielberg films (Gremlins, anyone?).

The point is simply to write.

Additionally, I should mention that pardons will be permitted for emergencies.  Some days it’s simply not feasible to write a post.  These days are few, and I hope they won’t impact this blog, but if they do they do.  I’ll try to make it up to you the next day with some serious groveling and an extra-long post on a topic of your choice.

Finally, because we’ve just been introduced, and because you’re not sure yet whether to bookmark this blog or to simply check back in 30 days to see if I’m a liar or not, here are my credentials:

Blog No. 1 (The Personal Blog).  This blog chronicles the good the bad and the ugly, beginning my senior year of high school.  Prepare for drama, prepare for bad poetry, and prepare for tangible evidence that I have, in fact, matured over the past three years (I hope).

http://staygoldponyboy88.blogspot.com/

Blog No. 2 (The Travel Blog).  Last semester (September 9th-December 15th) I studied in Salzburg, Austria.  I had a fantastic time, learned a lot, and took more pictures than Mac can currently handle without running at a speed akin to corn growing.  Note: I visited many more places than are represented on this blog, but know that I have plans to keep posting until I catch up.

http://staygoldponyboy8.wordpress.com/

Thanks for hearing me out.  I hope to see you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

